Kashiwa’s secret treasures

At 手賀沼公園 Teganuma Park on my evening ride, I saw a girl walking along with a camera, and I went one way, she went the other. But at the edge of the park, we were both drawn to this wisteria. I managed to capture the evening sun in the wisteria blossoms with my iPhone. On the trip back into the center of town, I noticed more purple hanging blossoms amongst the trees in the park on the south side of the marsh. So beautiful.

This afternoon, I headed out on the bike again, this time to visit some temples off the beaten track but still in Kashiwa City. My objective, 観音寺 Kannondera Temple, is in the 逆井 Sakasai area of Kashiwa.

I was perusing the maps of Kashiwa when I discovered this temple, which is noted for its ボタン botan, or peony garden display. Although today the skies threatened to rain, I supposed this would be the best and perhaps last chance to see peonies, which can fall apart under a downpour.The temple is only about 20 minutes south west of Kashiwa Station by bicycle.

At the entrance of the garden I met this couple.

The timing was just right – the peonies were in full bloom,

and the rain was just starting.

The main building had the 不動明王 Fudomyo mantra on it, のまく さまんだ ばざらだん かん.

The gardener took shelter after she weeded around the tall stuppa.

On the way home I stopped in at 妙連寺 Myorenji Temple, but there was a ceremony with a film crew in attendance, and the gate man sleeping on the job.

Further on my way, at 少林寺 Shorinji Temple, where I have read there is zazen sessions, there were a few peonies, too. Shorinji Temple is home to Kashiwa City’s oldest Buddhist statue, which was installed 450 years ago.

I stopped by Hiryu, the green grocer/izakaya below Nadogaya Hospital, and there was a big box of citrus fruit from Ehime Prefecture, where I used to live.  The grocer charged me a mere ¥190 for five of them. They’re sweet and tart and good for breakfast.

2 Responses

  1. Shorin-ji? Doesn’t that mean ‘Shaolin Temple’

  2. Hi Billy,

    Yes, Shorin is the Japanese reading of Shaolin. The kanji mean “little forest”.

Leave a comment